European projects for hydrogen development

  • xls
  • pdf

Description 

This map represents the number of European projects committed to the development of hydrogen (for industrial use, mobility, energy…). “Others” projects include communication initiatives and economic, social or technical studies favoring hydrogen technologies’ deployment.

Analysis

Currently, hydrogen is mainly used in fertilizers’ production or petrochemical / refining processes (87% of global uses). Nevertheless, it is also an energy vector that can foster environmental transition by allowing energy storage, carbon free mobility, green chemistry or the production of synthetic methane.

Germany is the historic leader of hydrogen in Europe with major industrial actors (Daimler, Shell, Linde). However, in June 2018, France announced the implementation of an ambitious plan aiming, among other things, to strengthen its industrial sector, already led by international leaders

Projets de développement de l’hydrogène en Europe

  • xls
  • pdf

Description 

Cette carte représente le nombre de projets européens engagés en faveur du développement de l’hydrogène (à usage industriel, mobilité, énergie…). Les projets « autres » regroupent des actions de communication et des études économiques, sociales ou techniques favorisant le déploiement de l’hydrogène.

Analyse

Actuellement, à l’échelle mondiale, l’hydrogène est majoritairement utilisé dans la production d’engrais ou dans les procédés de pétrochimie / raffinage (87% des usages). Néanmoins, c’est aussi un vecteur énergétique pouvant favoriser la transition environnementale en intervenant par exemple dans le stockage d’énergie, la mobilité, la chimie ou la production de méthane de synthèse.

Si l’Allemagne est le pays historique de l’hydrogène en Europe avec la présence d’industriels engagés sur le sujet (Daimler, Shell, Linde), la France a annoncé en juin 2018 un ambitieux plan de déploiement visant, entre autre, à renforcer sa filière industrielle déjà portée par des leader internationaux.